Ponte Vecchio Lusso or Export. And which grinder? I am confused!

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
alibnghani

#1: Post by alibnghani »

Greetings,

I just want to skip the introduction (sorry, I know it is rude) and go straight to my dilemma.
I am a newbie and looking to buy my first espresso set. I was amazed by the wide range of equipment, and got really confused on what to get to serve my goals properly.

my golas or interest currently is to experience with wide range of beans and roasting at home, I really want to learn how to make a good espresso shot.

after an extensive search, I decided to go with the a lever espresso machine. I was between the ponte vecchio (lusso or Export) and the bezzera strega. I then decided that the Ponte Vecchio is better because it look simpler. But I cant decide between the Export and the Lusso, is it just size? I want to pull many shots per day for my experiments.

as for the grinder, I read that the grinder is really important, that you must invest in a very good one. But I noticed that there is a lot to consider. what I think I need currently is an espresso grinder only, to be small for home use but without any compromise in terms of quality of the grind. I am welling to spend 2000 USD for a good grinder.

I hope I can get good advice from you guys. thanks in advance!

peacecup

#2: Post by peacecup »

The Lusso is better for pulling many shots - bigger boiler and more temperature-stable.

$2000 should be plenty of grinder for a Lusso - there is a lot of research you can do on HB about grinders in that price range.
LMWDP #049
Hand-ground, hand-pulled: "hands down.."

drgary
Team HB

#3: Post by drgary »