Profitec 700 and Scale - Page 2

Water analysis, treatment, and mineral recipes for optimum taste and equipment health.
mbrown205 (original poster)

#11: Post by mbrown205 (original poster) »

Interesting about the ECM filter!

I am not a water expert. There is a very long document on this website about water, if you have the time to read it.

I usually just check to make sure there is nothing very poisonous or unhealthy in the water, the Ozarka looks good on that. You say you are using the Ozarka bottle water. Is that the spring water? The Ozarka has water hardness of 9-10 grains. That would qualify as being moderately hard water I think. Often bottle water has hardness because consumers find it tastes better. But I believe it is more likely to cause scale long term than a water hardness of, say, 2 or 3.

Could you mix the spring water 50:50 with the distilled water and bring the hardness down to 4? How would that taste? I carbon filter (Brita) my bottled water as it comes in multi gallon plastic containers and tastes of plastic if I don't filter it.

Or, what is your home water hardness? If it's about the same or less you could use that in the 50:50 mix and brita filter it for taste. Many people have bought under sink filters.

Mack
Mack Brown
North Carolina, USA

(I like ristretto)

JavaRanger

#12: Post by JavaRanger »

I read that article and still have no idea what to do, task is pretty good of the bottle stuff. My tap...ahhhh is okay. So is there a dif water I should buy here so I don't have to mix?

Maybe there is a Austin Texas area local who can give me water advice :D

Advertisement
JohnB.
Supporter ♡

#13: Post by JohnB. »

mbrown205 wrote: You say you are using the Ozarka bottle water. Is that the spring water? The Ozarka has water hardness of 9-10 grains. That would qualify as being moderately hard water I think.