Grinds sifter

Coffee preparation techniques besides espresso like pourover.
leon

#1: Post by leon »

I recently acquired this Taiwan made grinds sifter from a local coffee shop. The brand name is Akirakoki. It's made well and the price was seemingly reasonable (~ USD $20). It's quite easy to use: drop your grinds in the basket, drop the basket into the catch cup, put the lid on and shake, shake, shake.

The packaging does not have any information about the size of the holes in the basket, so all I can subjectively say is that the fines that end up in the catch cup have the feeling of a very soft powder when rubbed between the fingers. Grinding for pourover with a Feldgrind, I find that an initial 25g of grinds in the basket produces ~1.5g of fines in the catch cup after shaking for about 30 seconds. If I shake longer I will get more fines separated, but at that point I'm not sure if it's just because I'm bashing the grinds into smithereens. Is that possible?

This is my first time playing with sifting grinds, but I can say that the results are quite clear in the cup. Using a couple different coffees with a V60 and a Kone3, flavor separation and clarity in the cup are improved. Muddy, astringent, and bitter notes are reduced. Hitting my target brew time is a bit more difficult as draw down times are sped up significantly. It's also another added step in the process of making my single morning cup and even though I like the result I can't always be bothered to do the sifting.

bytheway

#2: Post by bytheway »

Looks good. Do the holes get clogged and that is why no more fines come out?

leon (original poster)

#3: Post by leon (original poster) »

The catch cup actually has a nice neoprene pad on the base. This allows one to rap it sharply on a flat surface to knock loose whatever fines have clogged up the holes. I did actually have that problem the first couple times I used it before I realized the purpose of the neoprene pad.