Help with SM Guatelmala Acetenango Gesha Please

Discuss roast levels and profiles for espresso, equipment for roasting coffee.
BarryR

#1: Post by BarryR »

This Gesha was my first super-premium roasting attempt.
It's now had one week of rest and I'm still unimpressed.
I'm not very good at the description thing; it tastes fine, but nothing really special. A bit flat. Maybe a teeny bit sour.
Nothing particularly impressive in the aroma.

I charged 8 oz at 400 F (ET). No scorching on the beans.
It looks like City+ though it lost 15.3% of it's weight which seems high for a City+.
I generally like my coffee in the City+ to FC range and recently have been doing more of the City+ to taste the varietal character more.

Any thoughts or suggestions?
Did I bake them a little at the end?

Thanks!

Boldjava

#2: Post by Boldjava »

BarryR wrote:This Gesha was my first super-premium roasting attempt. . .
Barry, I wouldn't lose sleep over this one. I have bought this bean for 3-4 years running and this crop was the least impressive/distinctive. I felt that rating was high. I might give it an 88 or so. It was not bad Gesha, it just didn't live up to past years.

Profile looks fine.
-----
LMWDP #339

UseIt4Toddy

#3: Post by UseIt4Toddy replying to Boldjava »

Agreed entirely. Enjoyed last year's crop, but the latest has only a glimmer of the floral and honey complexity. I've come to enjoy the roll of the dice with Geshas. The strikes and gutters are all part of the fun. Cheers,

TomC
Team HB

#4: Post by TomC »

Boldjava wrote:Barry, I wouldn't lose sleep over this one. I have bought this bean for 3-4 years running and this crop was the least impressive/distinctive. I felt that rating was high. I might give it an 88 or so. It was not bad Gesha, it just didn't live up to past years..

Exactly. This last round seemed to show a larger variation in bean size too. I was highly unimpressed with this last offering, which was a first from anything from SM.