ECM Giotto died and need a bit of help - Page 5

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
buddysharp (original poster)

#41: Post by buddysharp (original poster) »

Hi Eric & David,

Hard to tell, but I looked at the screws on this machine carefully and I would bet it had never been opened since new. The amount of corrosion, rust scaling and evidence of leaks, as well as the absolutely fossilized gasket in the GH tend to make me believe this is the original pstat and no maintenance has been performed. Admittedly, I am a novice though.

I contacted Stefano, and as per his reputation, he was helpful and sourced both a new pstat and new tube with compression fittings on both ends so as soon as my package arrives, I should be ready to roll. I'll stick with the mater for now and see how it performs.

This also gives me a few days to do some additional cleaning and polishing, as well as tackle cleaning up the gh and repairing rust on the black frame, protecting wires, etc.

I am taking pictures throughout and hoping to put together a pictorial of the teardown and reassembly, for what it's worth.

I would like to check the load on the heating element but lack the expertise to test with my multimeter; I was unable to find guidance on how to test the load. Any suggestions appreciated!

homeburrero
Team HB

#42: Post by homeburrero »

buddysharp wrote:Pat, curious as to why you went with the CEME; I think I recall from your assembly diagram that you included a relay switch as well? Interested to hear your rationale and any guidance on how to wire it in - since I'm replacing the pstat anyway and I'm going to try to source a tube, I may as well explore the use of a better pstat.
I saw CEME and Mater pretty much as a tossup in quality and price, and since my old one was a CEME I went with that. In retrospect was a good call because I might have had some frustration getting the Mater oriented properly on that fixed fitting.