Adding PID control to an HX espresso machine

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
MpVpRb

#1: Post by MpVpRb »

I have an Isomac Tea (a heat exchanger machine with an E61 grouphead)

Although I am an engineer who could design a control system from scratch, I'm interested in the experience of the community

What is a good controller?

Should I drill a hole in the boiler for the the temp sensor, or use some sort of pipe fitting?

Should I use the temp controller instead of the pressurestat, or in combination with it?

I don't like milk in my coffee, so I want to optimize for brew quality at the expense of steam

But, my wife and guests sometimes like steamed milk, so I don't want to eliminate steam completely

Ideas??

D'Laine

#2: Post by D'Laine »

I have the PID version of the QuickMill Alexia. Always espresso, but can steam if needed.
I can send you the wiring schematic if you like.
The PID is a Watlow, but a Fuji would likely do the job as well.
Thermal sensor location is the question to follow up. It's very tricky. But simpler for reliability.
Or you could use a pressure transducer but more money. Then the logic is as designed by the manufacturer.

D.

Advertisement
sweaner

#3: Post by sweaner »

Why do you want to PID an HX?
Scott
LMWDP #248

MpVpRb (original poster)

#4: Post by MpVpRb (original poster) replying to sweaner »

I like to experiment, optimize and perfect stuff, even if it's already good enough (I'm a control systems engineer and tinkerer)

It always seemed odd to me that that the machine had no temperature control, only a pressure control

It seems that the control system was designed as a compromise between steam and brew water production

I want to optimize for precise brew water temperature control at the expense of steam

I also want to shorten startup time, since I only use the machine in the morning, and hate waiting

I am thinking of adding a circulating pump to the thermosiphon line