Elektra A3 Mods, False Pressures etc

Equipment doesn't work? Troubleshooting? If you're handy, members can help.
ianh

#1: Post by ianh »

I purchased an Elektra A3, largely on the basis of Dan Kehn's excellent review (/elektra-a3 ... guide.html), but additionally because its size and design met requirements. A La Marzocco GS/3 was also considered; however, I am not convinced that the flavour profile from a flat temperature (PID) supply is my preference, preferring the spike of an HX machine to 'get things started'. The local La Marzocco dealer was also less than encouraging, identifying stagnation in a double boiler machine being a disadvantage when used for small volume home use. I have no experience of this, but am in no way disappointed with the Elektra. Notwithstanding, I felt a couple of minor improvements could be made.

Firstly, pressurization is fast, and there is often an initial flow surge at the very start of pulling a shot, which seemed to flush through fines. This varied with different coffees and grind, and initial thoughts were to try a smaller gicleur. However the flow rate for the rest of the shot was good. Pre-infusion was tried as an alternative, and gave great results. I had intended to purchase the semi-automatic as reviewed; however production of this model has been discontinued, with only the model T1, the automatic equivalent with programmable dosing buttons, being made.