Olympia Coffex brew pressure problems

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
hochstedler2

#1: Post by hochstedler2 »

Hello, I am a first timer on here. I just picked up an 85 or 86 model of an olympia coffex. It looks in really good shape but the pump wasn't working. The steam would work from the boiler but no water would come from the grouphead. I found a fluid-o-tech pump at orphanespresso and just installed it. I can hear the new pump trying to pump but nothing comes out of the grouphead still. I've followed the tubing/piping all the way from the "out" of the pump to the opening of the group without any obstructions. If I try to disconnect all of the tubing and simply pump right out of the end of the pump I get just a small dribble of water. I'm new to these machines and would be very happy with any ideas or advice with this machine. Thanks in advance!
Hans

erics
Supporter ★

#2: Post by erics »

First and foremost - DISCONNECT your machine's heating element while all of this is going on.

If I remember correctly, the pump in all(?) Olympia machines has a direct connection to the bottom of the water reservoir BUT STILL, the Fluid-O-Tech pump should be initially force fed with a turkey baster. One dose or less should do it. The Fluid-O-Tech pumps are not as "self-priming" as the Ulka's - that's been my experience.
Skål,

Eric S.
http://users.rcn.com/erics/
E-mail: erics at rcn dot com

Sherman

#3: Post by Sherman »

If this happens just after turning the machine on, I'd let it sit for about 10 minutes.

Actually, make sure that the reservoir has water, then let it sit. For some reason, the FOT pump takes a few minutes to prime. I don't know the exact reason, but have observe similar behavior when I empty out my Coffex for transport, plug it in at the destination and wonder why water doesn't immediately come out.
Your dog wants espresso.
LMWDP #288

hochstedler2 (original poster)

#4: Post by hochstedler2 (original poster) »