Silvia issues

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
ryanjg11

#1: Post by ryanjg11 »

I'm new to home espresso and bought an old "Miss Silvia" (probably the first gen) from someone off Craigslist. I've performed a backflush and descaled it when I first got it, but have been fairly unhappy with the results. Rather than the thick, golden shots I expect at my local coffeehouse, my results usually look like plain old black coffee... Very dark, thin, and without much crema. I'm mixing up the beans starting tomorrow, but I'm wondering if this is a technique problem or a machine problem?

I have noticed that when I let the machine warm up in the morning, and especially if I turn the milk frother heat-up switch on, the unit can get way over-temperature. As soon as my milk is warmed up, when I go to pull a shot (without the portafilter loaded) all I get is steam for about 10 seconds. Is this normal? I was told that if you see steam, it's way too hot. But as soon as the steam is released, the orange light goes back on, indicating the boiler is re-heating.

At the end of about half the shots I pull, I hear a gurgling sound from the Silvia. I believe it's trying to suck the puck dry, but I really have no idea. Is this normal?

Technique-wise, I am selecting a fairly fine grind on the Rocky, and tamping to 30 lbs. Extraction time for a double-shot is usually around 20 seconds to fill my two shot glasses to the line, so I don't think my technique is very bad... But if you disagree, let me know!

Thanks!

Advertisement
bamaster

#2: Post by bamaster »

Wait, you're turning on the steam switch when you're pulling a shot? That's the wrong thing to do.