Vibiemme Domobar non-Hx

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
austted

#1: Post by austted »

I an a newbie here.

I recently picked up a non- Hx Vibiemme Domobar at a local flea market from a seller who replaced it with a nespresso machine. Could not believe my luck, Anyway although the machine was originally purchased in 1998 it appeared to have seen little use and had been mothballed for 5 years. After getting some useful instructions from the local current Australian distributor now find it easy to use and it makes a good coffee.

Now having this machine I have found it a bit of an enigma and am curious about its development over the years. I gather it was originally marketed as a Domobar as against a Domobar Super for the Hx model which I gather is more widely sold along with the double boiler versions. I understand mine has also been sold as a Levetta, Vashetta and Manual. The current Australian distributor calls it a Piccolo to distinguish it from the Hx Super model.

Mine has a 1.5L boiler. The Australian Piccolo has a 0.75L boiler and I gather a 1.8L boiler version is sold in the US.

Can anyone provide any more info on this machine. Am interested in how it is sold in countries other than Australia and any info on changes that might have been made to its design over the years.

Here is a pic from the leaflet which came with mine.

Advertisement
austted (original poster)

#2: Post by austted (original poster) »

I was wondering why no one had replied to my post until I read a reply to another query by someone else on Coffee Geeks that no one imports the non HX Domobar into the US.