Need help with restoration of espresso machines from craigslist

Equipment doesn't work? Troubleshooting? If you're handy, members can help.
derrith

#1: Post by derrith »

Hello,

I just obtained via craigslist two espresso machines today. I worked in the coffee industry for a few years as a roaster and barista in Pennsylvania and the SF Bay Area. Due to a lack of independent shops in my current town, I'm now working in catering. I've missed the coffee business a lot and started to look around for a machine to put in my home. I was on craigslist today and saw a post up in Sacramento for two free machines, a La San Marco 2 group lever, and a 2 group Conti Xeos for free. Both were listed as not working and obviously missing parts.

As a part time mechanic, I figured for the price I could give it a shot. I'm looking forward to getting one or both up and running and would value input on where in the bay area I can obtain parts and where I should start in terms of getting these machines back to their former glory.

mhoy

#2: Post by mhoy »

Which one is the most complete? How handy are you with tools?

Do you have the power available (likely 220v), water supply and drain?

Better pictures would help.

Mark

karl_a_hall

#3: Post by karl_a_hall »

Welcome to the community Logan! Good score... I too saw those on craigslist.

If you wish to help finance one of your projects by selling the other, I would purchase the lever from you. I already have a commercial pump machine that I restored.

I would encourage you to be sure to buy enough citric acid and take plenty of pictures of the dis-assembly. Espressoparts.com is a good supplier for spare parts as well as some diagrams. But I agree with the last poster, more pics of the machines would help us give you insight.