Looking for Stainless Steel Tampers w/o Handles

Want to talk espresso but not sure which forum? If so, this is the right one.
Quadshot

#1: Post by Quadshot »

Hello,

I'm having no luck trying to find stainless steel tampers (in various sizes) that do not have any handles. I only want the polished metal disk as I'm a professional woodturner and I prefer to turn my own handles. Does anyone know of a supplier that offers a kit w/o a handle, or some company that can custom make them so I can add my own turned handles from various woods and alternative materials? Thanks in advance and all the best to you and yours!
Steve Russell
The Woodlands, Texas

ddr

#2: Post by ddr »

I would contact this guy on EBay, he can make whatever size you like and is very reasonable with prices: http://stores.ebay.com/Precision-Tamper-Maker
Dan
LMWDP #242

HB
Admin

#3: Post by HB »

I assume you mean the piston? Espressoparts will happily sell you them a la carte, for their tampers or Reg Barber's. The threading of EPNW's pistons are probably preferable since (a) there is a larger market for them if you decide later to sell tamper handles, and (b) the bottom is flat, which are easier to mate with a DIY handle, unlike Reg's beveled pistons.
Dan Kehn

zin1953

#4: Post by zin1953 »

Look HERE . . .
A morning without coffee is sleep. -- Anon.

Quadshot (original poster)

#5: Post by Quadshot (original poster) replying to zin1953 »

Hello,

Thanks for the link, however the product shown is made from aluminum and I need stainless steel. Thanks for your assistance.
Steve Russell
The Woodlands, Texas

#6: Post by Quadshot (original poster) »

ddr wrote:I would contact this guy on EBay, he can make whatever size you like and is very reasonable with prices: http://stores.ebay.com/Precision-Tamper-Maker
Hello ddr,

Thanks for the info and the link. It looks like this bloke can do custom work, so this might be a good source. Thanks and take care!
Steve Russell
The Woodlands, Texas