What to troubleshoot with Caravel that stopped heating

A haven dedicated to manual espresso machine aficionados.
PacMan

#1: Post by PacMan »

My fantastic Caravel that I've been using non-stop for the last 7 months has suddenly stopped heating. Had two shots yesterday and was fine but this morning nothing. The light on the front of the machine turns on but the element never heats up. I believe, but am not certain, that it has a 110V element from cafelat. I opened up the bottom just now to take a look and all the wires seem connected appropriately with nothing obvious in sight. There was a lot of black soot that came out though and I'm not sure if this is normal or not.

Any advice on what I should troubleshoot here? Do these elements usually blow out or is it more likely a wiring issue I need to deal with? Thanks for the help.

drgary
Team HB

#2: Post by drgary »

Where is the soot? That isn't normal. After unplugging, did you remove the element and test it with a multimeter? Is it connected to a GFCI, and did that turn off? Otherwise people isolate and check the components, one by one, unplugged.
Gary
LMWDP#308

What I WOULD do for a good cup of coffee!

Advertisement
redbone

#3: Post by redbone »

They are easy to diagnose. Ohm test element out of machine. If fine place downward pressure on kettle. If light turns on may need some minor thermostat adjustments.
Could also be the microswitch. They can be hard to get at to remove and replace but easy to get at to ohm test. Test while unplugged. Repeat not plugged into wall during microswitch or any ohm test since your are testing for continuity only at that point.

Microswich shown in middle with blue stripe.
Between order and chaos there is espresso.
Semper discens.

Rob
LMWDP #549

PacMan (original poster)

#4: Post by PacMan (original poster) »

Thanks for the responses.