What is happening to the price of levers on eBay?

A haven dedicated to manual espresso machine aficionados.
walt_in_hawaii

#1: Post by walt_in_hawaii »

Hello, all. newbie here.
Just when I decide to get back into coffee and clean out the old Pavoni 2 group monster in my kitchen, prospective acquisitions of levers (always wanted to try one) are going absolutely nuts on the bay. I figured a nice, perfectly functional used unit perhaps a decade or two old would be a couple hundred bucks? But lately that figure seems to have doubled. What is going on? Is that the general consensus here too?

I gave up trying to snipe a good deal in the USA and just purchased a used Pro from overseas, wired for 220v. I figured, even with buying a new 110v heating element or the 220v-110v converter, it was still a pretty good deal at $300 plus $65 shipping from Italy for a Professional. I just ordered a 3 kW converter from amazon for about $89.

Nice site you guys have here, I've never contemplated roasting my own beans but have decided (after reading some posts here) to give it a go along with the new (to me) machine once it arrives here. I will have to find a suitable roaster or make one. Now I've got to clean out the decade of crud in my old commercial Pavoni grinder... which I left beans in when I lost interest in the coffee a decade ago :( once the kids and the responsibilities of parenthood came.