User Experience: Flair Espresso Manual Lever - Page 35

A haven dedicated to manual espresso machine aficionados.
SunSurfH2o

#341: Post by SunSurfH2o »

boren wrote:Yes, this is the video I was referring to. I don't get anywhere close to this amount of crema with the MCaL, not even on the day I roast the coffee. I do however use the single shot basket, so it's not exactly apples to apples comparison. The double shot basket does provide more crema, but the quality of the coffee is not as good, probably because the amount of water is the same for twice the amount of coffee (resulting in a double ristretto, which isn't my favorite type of coffee). Pulling the lever again to get more water hasn't proved to be a viable and consistent solution, frequently resulting in channelindg.
i have no experience with MCal, sorry i can't be of help there. I have Elektra sixties A3 and, though I've never measured, i can tell you that by eye the amount of crema from the Flair is on par with it--or bests it. Crema does not a great espresso make but i for one thoroughly enjoy it. I've heard some say crema itself is actually is not that great tasting. to each their own, i love my foam!
Andrew

SunSurfH2o

#342: Post by SunSurfH2o »

boren wrote:Yes, this is the video I was referring to. I don't get anywhere close to this amount of crema with the MCaL, not even on the day I roast the coffee. I do however use the single shot basket, so it's not exactly apples to apples comparison. The double shot basket does provide more crema, but the quality of the coffee is not as good, probably because the amount of water is the same for twice the amount of coffee (resulting in a double ristretto, which isn't my favorite type of coffee). Pulling the lever again to get more water hasn't proved to be a viable and consistent solution, frequently resulting in channeling.