Unused 1987 Olympia Cremina-replace all seals immediately?

A haven dedicated to manual espresso machine aficionados.
Larz

#1: Post by Larz »

If I may impose upon any of you fine folks that are in-the-know: I just picked up a pristine, used-once, 1987 Cremina I found on a local Craig's list. The couple that sold it received it as a gift 25 years ago or so and put it in storage. They pulled it out a short while ago to give it a try which meant heading down to Publix Supermarket and buying a bag of house-brand "ground espresso", pulling a single shot according to the instructions, deciding they didn't like espresso and then putting the machine on Craig's list. Since I have zero experience with these machines and a generous ignorance of levers in general, I thought I'd ask (and this is probably a stupid question) if it is wise to immediately install a full seal and gasket kit from OE before running and using the thing. Although the seller said he didn't see any leaks the first and only time he tried it a couple weeks ago, it would seem highly likely that, unused or not, the machine's seals, if not gaskets, would have deteriorated over 27 years. My gut tells me to fire the puppy up and pull a shot or two and run it till i get around to replacing items...any risk in that?
Thanks

samuellaw178
Supporter ♡

#2: Post by samuellaw178 »

Larz wrote:...My gut tells me to fire the puppy up and pull a shot or two and run it...
This.

Fire it up and flush few rounds of water. If the water is running clear (no funky smell/taste) and not leaking, I would just put it into its own pace. If the lever action is not smooth, some Dow Corning 111 (Food grade Silicone Lubricant) is recommended.

Having a spare set of seal is great, but I wouldn't change the old seal out if they're working well. You may be surprise that the gasket still have a lot of life in them after 27 years.

And congrats on the find! :mrgreen:

Advertisement
Larz (original poster)