Too little water with one pull

A haven dedicated to manual espresso machine aficionados.
PRPaisano

#1: Post by PRPaisano »

I have a two group VFA Espress lever machine. I bought it a while back and just got it hooked up recently.
I'm not sure why but when I pull the lever down to pull a shot it doesn't seem to "gulp" very much water. I also have an Cimballi M-20 which I have been using for several years. When I release the lever it returns almost to the top before it starts to come to pressure and start pulling the shot. It takes about three pull to barely get a 2 ounce shot. I leave the lever down for a long enough time for pre-infusion so it has time to "gulp" more water but it doesn't seem to get much.
Any ideas?
Thanks

PRPaisano (original poster)

#2: Post by PRPaisano (original poster) »

One other thing. If I pull the lever down without coffee in the portafilter water comes streaming out normally as it should, so it;s no a blockage.

EspressoForge
Sponsor

#3: Post by EspressoForge »

I have a hard time coming up with useful specs on that model, do you know the cylinder size? Diameter & Length. That way you can calculate the potential maximum water that could fill. Of course air will be trapped as well, depending on the piston design.

One thing you can try other than calculations is the Fellini move:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LRScmTLim9w

Basically it gets more water into the cylinder by pumping the lever a bit to force some water into the puck at a bit of a higher preinfusion pressure. It may also work to get rid of some of the air in the cylinder, again depending on your machine design. It's worth a shot anyway!

JimH

#4: Post by JimH »

How many grams are you dosing and into what size of basket? More headspace above the puck increases the volume of available water.