Temperature shutoff problem on old La Pavoni Europiccola

A haven dedicated to manual espresso machine aficionados.
Bfairless

#1: Post by Bfairless »

I have an old La Pavoni Europiccola. I have been using it for about 18 months after picking it up at a yard sale. It has always shut itself off after making about 2 cups, but now won't even stay on enough to make one cup. The rest is in good working order. Maybe it is a temperature shutoff? How can I fix? Thanks. Bruce in Lincoln MA

homeburrero
Team HB

#2: Post by homeburrero »

Bfairless wrote:Maybe it is a temperature shutoff? How can I fix?
Likely a defective protective thermal fuse or switch. See http://www.francescoceccarelli.eu/La_Pa ... to_eng.htm

Hard to say much more without knowing which Europiccola you have there.
Pat
nínádiishʼnahgo gohwééh náshdlį́į́h

day

#3: Post by day »

Def sounds like thermofuse going bad, they can have a variety of symptoms. Takes like 45 seconds to bypass it and see if that fixes the problem then decide if you want to replace it. If that's not it though someone here will help no doubt!
Yes, i you per this on an iPhone

hankbates

#4: Post by hankbates »

It would be good to know which model you have, specifically whether it has a single switch or some kind of double switch.
A single switch machine has a pressurestat which can also give flaky operation, particularly if its connecting tube is clogged with scale.
Some people rescue dogs and cats, I like to rescue Livias…

Bfairless (original poster)

#5: Post by Bfairless (original poster) »

Hey, thanks a zillion for the link. I have scheme 2. I got out my trusty soldering iron and removed the thermostat. Now it works like a charm. I just need to make sure not to let it run dry. Again, thanks so much for the feedback. Bruce

drgary
Team HB

#6: Post by drgary »

Might as well replace the thermal safety switch. These don't have a temperature shutoff.
Gary
LMWDP#308

What I WOULD do for a good cup of coffee!

day