Resting Newly Roasted Coffee for Lever Espresso

A haven dedicated to manual espresso machine aficionados.
JavaMD
Supporter ♡

#1: Post by JavaMD »

I'm getting a lever espresso machine and roast my own coffee. So will be doing a lot of SO espresso to start.

Reiss has posted (if my memory serves me correctly) that roasted coffee should rest two weeks before being used in a Londinium I.
I Would like some feedback from those who roast and brew with a lever as to how long it should wait.
Does a fresh coffee bloom under pressure wreak havoc with Lever espresso shots ... just wondering?
Trying to figure it out ahead of time. Would it be a disaster to pull a shot a day after roasting?

Big learning curve ahead of me with dialing everything in as I'm new to espresso and don't want this to be the overlooked factor that messes me up.

Thanks for any info you can give me on this. Not sure I could wait 2 weeks :lol:

Steve

Mrboots2u

#2: Post by Mrboots2u »

Reiss recommends his coffee be rested for two weeks after roast . Having enjoyed lots of his espresso, through a londinium lever . I would agree it suits his beans .
If you are roasting yourself ,then depends on what you are roasting . Different roasters will provide you with appropriate rest times . Different beans will have different peak times .
I personally wouldn't pull any bean a day after roasting for espresso

pacificmanitou

#3: Post by pacificmanitou »

I think my current coffee is four days old. Resting is done to develop taste, so its variable by coffees. You can pull right after roasting, but it tastes gassy for a few days.
LMWDP #366

victoriacoffees

#4: Post by victoriacoffees replying to pacificmanitou »