Rancilio Classe 6 LEVA Single Group is now mine!

A haven dedicated to manual espresso machine aficionados.
chris_n

#1: Post by chris_n »

stoked to finally have a lever!!

somewhat of a cross-post from Array/forums/used-pricing-for-rancilio-classe-6-leva-single-group-t32143.html, but this information is more pertinent to this forum

questions before I fire it up:

after moving the machine i found a stainless steel ball bearing sitting under it. i'm almost certain it came from somewhere inside the machine.

Being the idiot i am, i cocked the lever and went to lift it back to home position. I WAS NOT EXPECTING IT TO SHOOT UP LIKE THAT! It snapped into the up position with the full fury of the spring!

could i have damaged anything by this total newbie move? I'm worried that ball bearing came from somewhere in the group mechanics.

I'm pretty competent in HX machine repair, but i know absolutely nothing about levers. (hoping to learn lots!)

currently possibilities of where ball bearing came from:
1. the bearings at the base of the lever

2. the rancilio patented steam wand C-levers (do they have a ball bearing in the detents?) the action of them feels OK.
3. some sort of ball bearing check valve in the lever group?

doubleOsoul

#2: Post by doubleOsoul »

Great score on the tank!

Mouldy

#3: Post by Mouldy »

At least your face wasn't in the way of the lever when it slammed back to the up position :)

Not familiar with these units but the exploded parts schematics on a few sites like Nuova Ricambi, Ascaso, etc don't show any other ball bearings except for the lever cam bearings.

I assume it was just a small ball from a bearing that you found? If it is from the lever cam bearing then I'd expect you'd be also missing the washer that fits against the ball bearing that effectively acts as a shield for the bearing. I can't see how one of the balls from those bearings could come out if the shields are in place on both bearings.