Ponte Vecchio Lusso - where to start?

A haven dedicated to manual espresso machine aficionados.
SecretSeñor

#1: Post by SecretSeñor »

I hear that the PV Lusso is very forgiving but it would seem that my sins are too grave!

Firstly, I have some experience with a Sunbeam 4800(?) at my workplace using pre-ground beans from various local coffee establishments and have gained some experience extracting reasonable crema and espresso by varying my dose and tamp depending on the bean and grind purchased. More recently I have been using a low end hario grinder and freshly roasted beans with the sunbeam and again have been able to produce nice strong flat whites. Double shot with a milk ratio of about 1:2. I'm no Barista but I can manage a flat white and have some basic concepts down.

I've read alot about the PVL techniques, seen all the you tube videos and read a good deal of discussion on this site and others. I have probably made 1 worthy shot out of 30 tried and although it tasted OK it looked terrible. I was making myself taste almost every shot as I felt it might help me get a feel for what was happening. I tried coarse and tamped hard, and tried as fine as I could with the hario and concentrated on a light but very level tamp with a light polish. I also concentrated on the recommended "head room" for the puck at around 5mm. I was very careful with the pre-infusion and Fellini - very cautious - slow and purposeful.

I got results that included choking the shot through to a free flow at pre-infusion. I just couldn't get a nice crema and espresso.

I adjusted the machine to switch off at 1.1bar of pressure. It has been doing so very faithfully.

I am expecting a Rosco grinder in the mail in the coming days and I was wondering - does any one else have this set-up? PVL + Rosco? If so could they post to the forum with some idea of where they set there grinder. Without having the grinder in front of me yet - I am thinking 6-7mm

Any ideas would be great.

peacecup