Olympia Cremina electrical gremlin

A haven dedicated to manual espresso machine aficionados.
strfish7

#1: Post by strfish7 »

Hi All,

I decided to replace the jerry-built power cord on the Cremina, and now I have issues. First, let me say that I'm a complete electrical novice and my skill at using the multimeter is shaky at best. I've read Orphan Espresso's electrical troubleshooting guide, but I can't seem to pinpoint the issue here.
Here's what's going on:

Plug machine in, red power light goes on, nothing else happens. No red status light, no boiler heat, nothing. Toggling power switch to off causes circuit breaker to trip.

What I've tested:
Power switch, power cord, pressurestat switch, thermostat safety switch, heating element.
Notes: Redid the ground wire coming from power cord since wiring block had started to crumble and I couldn't free the wires from them. Discarded wiring block. Grounded power wire at same bolt and screw that grounds the boiler.

Any ideas or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

dominico
Team HB

#2: Post by dominico »

This sounds like a short to ground. Did you somehow swap ground and one of the power wires?
https://bit.ly/3N1bhPR
Il caffè è un piacere, se non è buono che piacere è?

forbeskm

#3: Post by forbeskm »

Did you draw out a diagram before you started? Pictures of before and after?

weebit_nutty

#4: Post by weebit_nutty »

+1 on the grounding issue. I ran into this problem replacing the cable on my Strietman. Same exact thing happened. Every time I turn it on, it would trip the GFCI plug.
You're not always right, but when you're right, you're right, right?

homeburrero
Team HB

#5: Post by homeburrero »

strfish7 wrote:Toggling power switch to off causes circuit breaker to trip.
Did it cause the GFCI to trip when you turned it off? If it's tripping the breaker at your panel, is it perhaps a GFCI breaker?