New Olympia Cremina owner- trouble making decent lattes

A haven dedicated to manual espresso machine aficionados.
Patagent

#1: Post by Patagent »

Hi,

I recent purchased a new Cremina (my first machine paired with HG1) and I'm having trouble making decent hot latte. I enjoy the espresso shots (single and double) and iced lattes but anything hot tastes flat and slightly bitter.
They all taste like bad cappuccinos to me.

I'm using about 15-16.5g of coffee while getting approximately 1.5 oz of espresso. Since I'm new to the whole home barista thing, I fear that I'm making a very simple mistake. I've tried both 2% and whole milk with several different beans all freshly roasted. Any ideas on what I could be doing wrong?

Thanks,
Patagent

OzarkTroutBum

#2: Post by OzarkTroutBum »

Are you scorching your milk? Optimal temp is 150-160.
I use a thermometer designed for steaming and it really simplifies life.

Boldjava

#3: Post by Boldjava »

Amount of milk being steamed?

Technique you are using? Where do you start the wand, how you are incorporating air into milk, when are you sinking the wand, at what temp, etc.

Clearing your wand of false pressure/water buildup before steaming?
-----
LMWDP #339

Patagent (original poster)

#4: Post by Patagent (original poster) »

Thanks for the replies.

I haven't checked the temperature yet. I'll get a thermometer and check it soon.

As far as my technique goes:

I usually wait for about a minute after I pull a shot before steaming the milk. I quickly open up and close the steam wand once or twice before lowering the wand into the center of my Motta pitcher (17 ounce). I try to keep the tip of the steam wand just below the surface of the milk at all times. I do this until the pitcher becomes very hot to the touch. It produces milk that is sometimes just warm and at times very hot. I get a decent amount of foam (not a fan foam).

erics
Supporter ★

#5: Post by erics »