New La Pavoni Pull Lever with No Force

A haven dedicated to manual espresso machine aficionados.
Calvinvtc

#1: Post by Calvinvtc »

Hi

Please forgive me if this question has been raised and solved before.
I am a newbie of coffee making,i brought a NEW LP Romantica last week from internet
i am not sure if it is working correctly.
Coffee grind: Extra Fine
Tamp: Try my best to make it even with 30lb force
Machine Status: 1bar (after release false pressure)

I lift the grouphead handle, a force pushing the lever back down.
When the lever is at the very top the back pressure stops.
About five seconds, coffee starts drizzling into my cup.
When I pull down the handle, there's no any against force that i expect, it's even drop down itself when if i release the handle.
Coffee without crema and I get a lot of bubbles.
Does anyone know if this is normal operation?

Thanks ALL

Buffy_ZA

#2: Post by Buffy_ZA »

Firstly, what grinder are you using?
If you are buying ground beans its not really gonna happen with the LP. It takes a while to get the grind and tamp right with these levers.
LMWDP #473

Calvinvtc (original poster)

#3: Post by Calvinvtc (original poster) replying to Buffy_ZA »

Yes, I brought ground beans at coffee shop. Do you mean the grind or tamp not right will make this situation happen? I know this machine need a little practise and i enjoy of it, just wanna sure that nothing need to fine tune with the machine beside my skill.

aaronmaestri

#4: Post by aaronmaestri »

you really need to grind fresh for each extraction or your never going to have any luck with a La Pavoni.
The grind needs to be adjusted constantly to keep you in "the zone". Using ground beans means you can't adjust and fine tune the ground to suit the machine, but it also means your coffee is oxidising (getting stale) quickly and will not produce any crema (even if the grind size happened to be spot on)