New La Pavoni Professional warped grouphead

A haven dedicated to manual espresso machine aficionados.
firebug

#1: Post by firebug »

Hey everyone,

Lever newbie here. I fell in love with the La Pavoni and bought a new supposedly 2014 La Pavoni Professional PLH. Love it so far! It's been a month already and my eyes have switched from "in love" to "critical observation". So my perfect Peacock seems to have bad posture! What I mean is.. the group head seems to be twisted or warped.

I'm linking some photos here... apologies for the potato quality, my kitchen is not optimally lit.

http://imgur.com/a/8Sybz#0

If you press left/right you can toggle some overlaid lines I drew to make it more apparent in the photos. It's quite visible if one is looking for it in real life.

My question is.. is this normal? I've noticed that the left spout almost always starts flowing first and attributed it to my inexperienced tamping technique. Could I have caused it by refilling the hot boiler with cold water?

Thankful for any input and opinions at all.

Edit: adding locally mirrored photos if imgur should lose my photos:

rpavlis

#2: Post by rpavlis »

It looks like a manufacturing defect in either the boiler flange or the one on the group. You can probably tell easily which by looking at the two bolts that hold the group onto the boiler. Metal does not deform by pouring cold water into something at the boiling point of water. That is the normal thing to do when refilling, in fact. Perhaps the holes on one side or another of the flange were drilled incorrectly. This is several degrees off!

firebug (original poster)

#3: Post by firebug (original poster) »