My Great-Grandmother's Vintage Chicobar Espresso Machine

A haven dedicated to manual espresso machine aficionados.
AGordo

#1: Post by AGordo »

Hey HB! I was hoping you guys might be able to help me out. I recently found out that my family still has my great-grandmother's old espresso machine, but that unfortunately it hasn't worked in something like 50 years. I would love to be able to restore it to working condition, but I have no experience with the inner workings of espresso machines and have no idea where to start. That's where I turn to you!

First off, I'm not quite sure what make and model the machine is! The only thing that is written on it is the word "chicobar" repeated around the body and the words "Made in Italy." There is no branding of any kind on the machine. I have tried to do a bit of research on my own, looking at vintage machines online, and based purely off the look and design, my best guess would be that it was made by La Cimbali. But even with that information, I have not been able to find my great-grandmother's model anywhere. Does anybody know what model of espresso machine it is?

It is worth mentioning that unfortunately I don't actually have the machine with me (I was sent the picture), so for the time being I can't examine it myself to answer any questions, but if there is anything that we absolutely have to know, I should be able to get more pictures sent.

Lastly, if we are able to figure out which model it is, is there any documentation that I can look at to try and learn how to determine what might be wrong with the machine and what I could do to fix it?

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

pacificmanitou

#2: Post by pacificmanitou »

Rebranded microcimbali? Sure looks like one, the porthole is pretty distinctive
LMWDP #366

AGordo (original poster)

#3: Post by AGordo (original poster) replying to pacificmanitou »