Low Pressure/Temperature from La Pavoni Europiccola

A haven dedicated to manual espresso machine aficionados.
mantisory

#1: Post by mantisory »

Hi everyone, this is my first post here.
I have been using a used pre-millenium La Pavoni Europiccola since last summer and while I am still learning to use it properly, something tells me that things are not quite right. I have never quite been satisfied with it - for one thing, it never really makes hot espresso. It does make espresso but it's always kind of lukewarm and from time to time the crema is not all that great either. The only way to really get hot espresso is to let it warm up for ~30 minutes or so, a good 15 minutes after the steam release starts whistling.
Anyway, the person I bought the machine from said they had done a complete gasket replacement but I am wondering if perhaps that is not the case, and I need to do an overhaul. Any thoughts or ideas for me? I wrote to Orphan Espresso but never received a reply...
Also, I have posted a couple of videos on youtube to show the machine in use. The first is when I would usually run it through the portafilter to pre-heat it and a cup:
And the second is pulling a shot, which again was lukewarm and quite possibly overextracted (slightly bitter though still not really too bad)
Thanks again for any assistance you might be able to offer!
Regards,
Byron

homeburrero
Team HB

#2: Post by homeburrero »

Are you sure that's a pre-millennium? The shape of the grouphead in your videos sure looks millennium to me.

You should disassemble and inspect and clean your safety valve. It could be that it's letting off steam at low pressure and preventing the machine from coming up to pressure.

Does it have the single switch or the two-position switch? If it has the single (red switch, green light) it has a pressurestat and normally should not be hissing at all.