LMWDP Rollcall - Page 159

A haven dedicated to manual espresso machine aficionados.
beer&mathematics

#1581: Post by beer&mathematics »

taildraggin wrote:...A first post to introduce myself to the forum. As a newbie, I have spent many hours reading posts here and give many thanks to those that have created this great body of information here to support all these great machines. To start, I've picked up an early '90s brass/copper europiccolo and a Zassenhaus. We'll see where that goes.

My background is probably similar to many here. A wandering mind with interest in fanciful things in woodworking, motorcycling, flying, wine, food, and other things that seem important (but are simply life's entertainments and distractions). Coffee is pretty core to my day, though...
Welcome--do share a photo of your set-up and ask questions =) This is a great community
LMWDP #431

taildraggin

#1582: Post by taildraggin »

Again, many thanks to all on the site with your advice, particularly notable are rpavlis and homeberrero. (More confirmation that that plastic-site-gauge-cover pre-Ms have brass bases.)

This Europiccola had seen some use with little wear (or cleaning) and had some corrosion, particularly under peeling lacquer edges. After disassembly, calcium mining (think "Dover") and lacquer stripping, the boiler and base were buffed with tripoli and jeweler's rouge on a wheel. Must say that it really is a peacock now. Gaudy bugger. If it makes coffee half as well as it looks, I'll be very happy.

Still waiting on some rubber bits from Stephano, but put together what I could and took a couple of pictures.
-Charlie

"Before" shot from the seller:

Advertisement
TomC
Team HB

#1583: Post by TomC »

It looks beautiful. Well done!
Join us and support Artisan Roasting Software=https://artisan-scope.org/donate/

Double Shot

#1584: Post by Double Shot »

Hi Everyone,

My name's Mike and I'm living in Jacksonville, FL though originally from Auckland, New Zealand.