La Peppina with damaged kettle - replace or fix?

Equipment doesn't work? Troubleshooting? If you're handy, members can help.
daniela

#1: Post by daniela »

Hi Everyone,

It's my first time posting - thank you in advance for your recommendations.

I purchased a La Peppina from ebay and it arrived with a damaged kettle and ceramic plug. It appears as though the seller didn't package it in a tall enough box because the kettle got smooshed in the back, leaving the enamel all scratched up and the kettle bent out of shape.

I got a good deal on it, so I'm wondering if I should file a claim for a refund...or make a project out of it and see if I can fix or find a replacement kettle (which still might be cheaper than purchasing a new vintage one).

I've tried contacting deluxecoffeepasta.com with no luck yet. I'm wondering if anyone in this forum knows of anywhere else to get a replacement kettle or has one they'd sell? Or, on the flipside, do you think the damage is fixable? I've seen some enamel repair kits and so I'm wondering if I can get it bent back into shape, would that prevent the enamel from further chipping?

Thanks!
Daniela

grog

#2: Post by grog »

OE sold a bunch of Peppina kettles in last year's cleanout. I believe several HBers acquired those kettles, so there may be some out there.
LMWDP #514

daniela (original poster)

#3: Post by daniela (original poster) »

Thanks for the reply, Grog - Fingers crossed. I need to purchase a gasket rebuild kit from OE, so I'll inquire about a kettle as well.

sweaner

#4: Post by sweaner »

I would keep it and look for a replacement. There is a glass kettle in the works.

Interested in custom kettles for La Peppina?
Scott
LMWDP #248

#5: Post by daniela (original poster) »

Thanks for the reply. I stumbled upon that thread about the custom glass kettle and am definitely interested.