La Pavoni water leaking out of shower after boiling once pressurised and settles

A haven dedicated to manual espresso machine aficionados.
ochapple

#1: Post by ochapple »

Hi All,
I wonder if someone could help me with this issue.

I've serviced a couple of La Pavoni Europiccolas now, although i'm no expert, however I now have the wonderful brass/copper La Pavoni Professional 2011 model with the lovely wooden handles.

Having replaced the Grouphead gaskets and the Teflon sleeve, which by the way was a nightmare to tighten, until I used some silicone grease; I now get water coming out of the group's shower head screen as soon as the Pressure reaches around .75- .8 bar with the lever in the proper down position!
The water boils as usual, with some dripping from the OPV as I would expect, and also a bit of steam rising from the OPV, which is also normal I believe. The water dripping from the shower screen lasts about a minute and then settles down once the pressure variance does and it has expelled about 90ml of water out of the shower head. So the water does eventually stop dripping so you can still make a normal great cup of coffee and steam is fine.

The manometer needle pressure does rise, after boiling point, from anywhere between the half way mark between the .5 and 1 bar manometer markings, and then goes upto I suppose about .85 bar. What I specifically notice, importantly, is that it's the initial meteoric rise at from the half way manometer markings between .5 and 1 bar, only after boiling point, that the dripping suddenly begins.

The pressure reading is about .7 bar when the initial boiling phase settles down, which I assume to be right although I gather the manometers are notoriously inaccurate.