La Pavoni Millenium group valve not functioning

A haven dedicated to manual espresso machine aficionados.
LaPavoniHome

#1: Post by LaPavoniHome »

Hi-

First post here, thanks for the great forum. I tried to do due diligence with a forum search and didn't see anything. If this has been covered in another thread, I apologize.

I have a La Pavoni Millenium that I bought used off eBay. Been making coffee everyday for six months or so, and while I'm no pro (and while the machine has all it's befuddlements), I'm a happy camper.

Recently, though, less and less hot water / steam began coming through the group head valve. Not the steam wand valve, but the valve between the boiler and the group head. Now, when I raise the lever all the way (even with the portafilter off), sometimes *no* hot water comes through, and sometimes some trickles through, and sometimes about half what used to normally comes through. I have to really crank the lever all the way up in an almost hard, jerky motion to get the water to come through, but again, it's random - sometimes it trickles, sometimes it flows, but not at regular volume. The machine is definitely hot and up to temperature.

I have tried cleaning (several times) with a light vinegar solution and letting it run through the valve and out the group head. There doesn't seem to be any scaling in the tank. Machine seems otherwise in good order, barring some seals that are soon going to need replacing.

Any hints?

Is this something anyone has experienced?

I'm wondering if I somehow pulled some espresso grounds back through the valve when double pulling a shot. I don't know. Thus asking you all.

THANKS for any input,

-Alex

russel

#2: Post by russel »