La Pavoni experience/questions

A haven dedicated to manual espresso machine aficionados.
catweasel

#1: Post by catweasel »

Hello:
I am a long-time espresso/cappuccino drinker and have just purchased my first home setup. After some reading of forums and talking to "experts" in the specialty shops, I have settled on a new La Pavoni Professional lever machine and an Anfim Best grinder. The hands-on aspect speaks to me - I am a university professor. I have had the system for a while over the break and have enough experience with it to ask some intelligent questions and hopefully understand your replies. I hope to draw from the forum's very experienced members. Here are the top 2 on my list.

1) I am getting consistent 16-16.5 gm dosing in the double basket which produces a 31-33 gm shot in the range of 20-30 seconds. From what I read, this is desirable. I am making a single pull and see no evidence of blonding when the piston finishes its metered volume (no naked portafilter - yet). I am still struggling with temperature consistency, but my percentage of better shots is improving. Is this fixed volume a big limitation of the La Pavoni? From what I am reading one should be determining the end of the shot interactively and not simply stoping when the water runs out. I have been hesitant to double pull as it seems to me to have disadvantages (head/boiler contamination and the puck channeling). Has anyone else worried about this?