La Pavoni Europiccola leaking coffee into heating chamber?

Equipment doesn't work? Troubleshooting? If you're handy, members can help.
funkmusic

#1: Post by funkmusic »

Dear forum,

I'm a newbie here, thanks in advance for any advice.

I'm on my second La Pavoni Europiccola machine (pre-millennium), which I bought used two years. Everything has worked fine up until recently.
When I pull a shot now, I get very little coffee, and have noticed that the water in the glass level turns brown after I pull the shot. This led me to dumping out the water from the tank a few times, which seems to be where some of the pulled shot is ending up, as that water becomes brownish (it certainly isn't that color when I add the water). Is this possible/make sense? I'm wondering if anyone else has had this problem, and whether it is a surmountable fix. I'm in the Los Angeles area and could try to find someone (suggestions welcome!) to check it out, or I could try to get all the proper tools and replacement parts and attempt it myself.

My first La Pavoni Europiccola machine (post-millennium) lasted me for a good ten years before it started to severely leak from its base and rust. However, I could also dust that off and try to repair that as well.

Many thanks!

Matt

forbeskm

#2: Post by forbeskm replying to funkmusic »

Easiest fix, go get some aero press paper filters put one on top of the coffee puck before you lock it in.

I have also read it can mean your seals are going on the piston. When was it last rebuilt? Changing seals is easy to do and it's always good to pop the shower screen off every once and a while to clean along with the piston bottom. Coffee oils like to build up.

DanoM

#3: Post by DanoM »

Sounds like you need a new set of seals, or possibly a new coating of DOW 111? When was the last time this machine had it's seals replaced would be my first question.