La Pavoni Europiccola grouphead screen dripping

A haven dedicated to manual espresso machine aficionados.
mogsie

#1: Post by mogsie »

hello all, i am new to this forum and also new to lever arm machines, last week i purchased a la pavoni europiccola millenium model from ebay, it is a used model but still in fantastic condition, obv i am still learning how to get the best out of this machine but having great fun learning, anyhow over the last 2 days i have noticed that when the machine gets up to temperature it starts dripping from the grouphead shower screen ( if you know which bit i mean ) even when the lever is fully down, tho it only does this when the water level is at or above the groove that runs around the tank, also water constantly drips (very slowly) from the steam wand when it is fully closed, this happens even when the water level is low, could anybody tell me is this normal or is there some seals that may need replacing ?, it isnt a major problem at the moment, but if it may progress into one i would rarther address this before it does, any information would be appreciated, thanks mogsie

RayJohns

#2: Post by RayJohns replying to mogsie »

Normally you fill the boiler up to just the top of the sight glass tube. You can fill it up higher, but I've found just to the top of the sight tube works pretty well.

If it's leaking water from the group head, that typically means the gaskets around the group head piston are old. You may want to replace those, as it will improve your shots of espresso, as well as the feel and operation of the lever. The machine will still work with shoddy / shot gaskets, but you won't be generating as much pressure during extraction, as pressure can slip backwards past the gaskets.