La Pavoni Europiccola dispersion screen and group removal

A haven dedicated to manual espresso machine aficionados.
lammer

#1: Post by lammer »

Hi. I want to pull the screen of my Millennium Europiccola and check for obstructions. I searched and found a method. The instructions read like the screen just pops out. I stopped when it seemed I was using too much force on the piston shaft.

Can someone please give me guidance on the method, or amount of force required on the piston shaft to free the screen?

When removing the group from the boiler, can I reuse whatever gasket there is or should I have a new one standing by?

(The situation: When I lift the lever of my seven-month-old Millennium Europiccola, a tiny bit of water weakly drips out. When the sight glass reads at the proper full level, the steam wand hisses, spitting occasionally. I have no experience frothing at this point, so I don't know if that steam output indicates normal pressure, but the hissing and spitting indicate pressure in the boiler.)

Thanks.

-- eg

rpavlis

#2: Post by rpavlis »

Normally not much force is required to push the screen out, but when it has not been removed for a long time it may be difficult. Be sure to have the acorn nut on the top of the rod when you push to avoid damaging threads. A couple of years ago I purchased a used machine in which I had to destroy the group gasket to get it out, but your machine is fairly new and should not be like that.

The group-boiler seal is an O ring. It does not require replacement with each group removal, in fact you can remove the group many times without changing it. If it be bad, you will hear and see steam escape.

This machine should have a brass piston, the plastic ones are infamous for coming unscrewed and producing problems like you appear to be having. Sometimes La Pavoni puts parts into their machines that are not normal for the presently produced ones. Each machine seems to be very much individually assembled.

OldNuc