Gaggia Factory 106 from Francesco in Italy

A haven dedicated to manual espresso machine aficionados.
Rikinwa

#1: Post by Rikinwa »

Ok, Just got my new-used Gaggia Factory 106 today from Francesco Ceccarelli in Italy.

I have been using semiautomatic espresso machines for several years now. I'm pretty happy with what I can pull from them. After reading H-B lever forum, I decided to try and see what all the fuss, ecstasy and agony is about. (little difficult to type with burned fingers...)

I turned the grind a few clicks finer on my LaCimbali Junior Hybrid (finer than what I'm currently using on my Nuova Simonelli Mac2000). I began using Cafe Vivace's Vito blend.

Now, Francesco was nice enough to throw in a nice wood handled tamper but it doesn't fit the double basket very well.

Well, the tamper fits in the basket, but I have to spend five minutes trying to separate the two. <beginning of salty language>

Very little to no resistance. A few clicks finer - very sour but lots of resistance. Of course, now the group head is overheated. So, I turn it off, go and pet the dog, come back (wash hands of course) refill the boiler and try again. Still sour. I futzed around and now the group was too hot. I thought what the heck, I'll try anyway - of course it's too sour so I removed the portafilter and WHAM - big ole PF sneeze!!! All over everything. Here's a pic.

So, I clean that up - my language starts to get a little more salty.... and I go to the plastic tamper....

Came back and started reading on H-B. Found someone recommended 12g only in the double basket.

Ok, maybe I was overdosing and maybe even over tamping... hmm... So, I started weighing out 12g inside the basket... Too thin...'

OK, maybe it's because I'm not so very familiar with Vivace's Vito blend... So, I switch back to my old standby - Dancing Goats from Batdorf and Bronson here in Olympia, WA.

Not so much better.