First restoration: Cappuccino Amore

Equipment doesn't work? Troubleshooting? If you're handy, members can help.
beer&mathematics

#1: Post by beer&mathematics »

It's my birthday tomorrow and my new toys are coming in a few days early 8)

I got a Cappuccino Amore (CA) as a complete impulse buy on Ebay without knowing anything about it.

This is technically my first lever, although I also have a La Peppina coming from Italy :wink: These will be my first restoration projects!

Luckily, OE is here to help with a set of gaskets (http://www.orphanespresso.com/Italianst ... c_208.html) and a group rebuild guide (http://www.orphanespresso.com/Cappuccin ... 547-1.html). I also bought their refresh kit (http://www.orphanespresso.com/Orphan-Es ... _1639.html).

I will start taking it apart and cleaning things this weekend, but since I have never done anything like this before I wanted to get this restore thread started a bit early. Mainly so I could ask the more experienced members questions and also to document some info to help others. I saw Dr Gary's gnarly 2 year, 72 page mega thread for his Prestina and was intimidated! Hopefully, the CA will be more straight forward.

:?: Some really elementary questions:

1) Can you completely empty the water chamber/boiler? First thing I did was put fresh water in the CA and turn it on. Both light switches seem to work fine and the heating element works. Ok so far, so I turned it off and a few hours later, I took the cap off and dumped the water into my sink. I couldn't completely eliminate the swishing noise, so some water remains. I should note that the CA arrived with a bit of water in it as well.

2) I couldn't help but pull down the lever. Here is my first problem. It is stuck in the down position and wont go back up. What should I do?

3) How do I start cleaning the parts? Anything important I should know? If this info is out there somewhere in the internets, I couldn't find it :/

Thanks in advance for the help!