Change lever force, or just get Bezzera Strega?

A haven dedicated to manual espresso machine aficionados.
Hugonl28

#1: Post by Hugonl28 »

I've been pulling shots on a millennium La Pavoni Pro for 6 months now, and I like the taste of my single shots at 9 gram and brew ratio 50%. Mostly I use full city or french roast, like the Caffé Molinari Oro, which always turns out great, creamy and chocolatey.

But lately I got a SO medium roast (Sumatra, Lintong Raja Batak), that I just can't seem to get right.. I notice that when I pull at my normal force, with 25 sec, it tastes flat and empty. The color and volume of the crema is good. I tried grinding coarser and the taste comes a bit more to life, but nowhere close to the potential of the bean and the shot runs through too fast IMO (I tasted it's full potential at the professional barista I bought it off, it should be bright and spicy).

Am I pulling with too much force? How much force is normal? I have no idea how pulling 9 bar feels.. Any tips for SO medium/high roasts?

I got the group temperature under control, that is, I can pull at any temperature after reading it off digitally, and my PSTAT is idling between .7 and .8 boiler 3/4 full. I always do WDT and there's no channeling. With my naked portafilter, the stream always comes out nicely in the middle and the color is light brown striped. After gently pulling the lever till some beads appear, I use around 4 sec preinfusion and then pull with one pull. I tried cool shots and hot shots, 7g, 8g, 9g the Sumatran SO just won't budge.

I'm saving up for the Strega, will that make things easier with diffent roasts and beans? Are there some things the Pavoni just can't do, what you can do with the Strega, or is it just about more consistency and convenience on the Strega vs Pavoni?
I only pull single shots at around 8-9 grams, but everybody seems to use 14-20 grams, will the Strega also do well with single shots? Any basket recommendations?