Zerowater with plastic-y taste

Water analysis, treatment, and mineral recipes for optimum taste and equipment health.
Nate42

#1: Post by Nate42 »

So, I decided to try out the zerowater system to attempt to have something pure to dilute my usual water with to reduce/eliminate the need to descale. It does appear to work as advertised, since I am getting 0ppm tds out of the filtered water.

Unfortunately, it seems to have a plastic-y taste. I've verified by holding the filter directly over a cup that it seems to be coming from the filter itself, not the pitcher. I used the water to do a pourover, and the taste didn't seem to come through to the coffee. still, whatever is causing the taste may be harmful, so I am reluctant to use it.

Anyone else experience this? Maybe its something that will go away with use?

Martin

#2: Post by Martin »

I've been using Zero for 7 months.
I add a splash or 2 of Santa Fe very high silica water to bring ppm up to 2 or 3 or 5 ppm (it's an art, not science :D ) and water seems to taste and brew just fine.
No offense, but are you sure you're not mistaking 0 ppm for plastic?
Try an A-B comparison with some other 0 ppm and add a bit of tap to see if it's potable.
Heat + Beans = Roast. All the rest is commentary.

Nate42 (original poster)

#3: Post by Nate42 (original poster) »

Believe me, the idea that I'm crazy has occurred to me. :) I'm pretty sure that's not it though, because I've had DI water before. It tastes a little flat, but not plasticy.

Keep in mind that a TDS reading of zero doesn't really mean there's nothing in there. Its really a conductivity meter and certain non-ionizing contaminates (like say plastic) won't show up on the TDS reading.

I'm using it at work right now and mixing with tap water isn't an option, the water here will literally give you cancer. I've been playing with adding some various brewing salts to improve the taste, which does seem to help some.

Nate42 (original poster)