Some observations and opinions from a frequent reader who rarely comments

Want to talk espresso but not sure which forum? If so, this is the right one.
sbrussell

#1: Post by sbrussell »

I'm not an expert by any means, but I'm not a Newbie either. These opinions are not intended to challenge the views of those who know a lot more about espresso than I do, but only to share some global observations from a frequent reader of this blog.

First, it seems that there are several different types of contributors to the forums: professionals; those who really, really like straight espresso; and those who like modest milk drinks (macchiatos and cappuccinos). These further divide into those for whom espresso making is a hobby, perhaps a passion, and those who simply want to make good espresso drinks (of whatever kind they prefer) at home. Another dimension of separation is between those who mostly like to tinker with machines, those who want to educate themselves by visiting and observing, and those who are passionate about beautiful (effective and often expensive) equipment. It would be helpful if those who post would clarify where they stand on these matters. I think this would lead to more focussd responses.