How tough was it to find quality espresso 30 years ago?

Want to talk espresso but not sure which forum? If so, this is the right one.
Seed65

#1: Post by Seed65 »

I am a relative newbie to the world of espresso making and have read tons of info on what is needed to pull a great shot. It is tough! I have the basic equipment...more or less...and am grateful in having this in my home. I feel sure that 30 years ago people had to seek quality espresso in restaurants and limited coffee shops and most did not have the means to make it at home.

So....What did espresso taste like 30 years ago when all this fancy equipment that we now have...auto/semi auto espresso makers..highly adjustable electric grinders ...etc...did not exist??? I still get crappy shots from cafes/shops that have all kinds of fancy equipment today...and I imagine it was tough finding shops and restaurants that could pull great shots back 30 years ago, which only had the basic equipment. A skilled barista must have been few and far between and espresso must have tasted like crap by today's standards in most instances.

Or perhaps our tastes been refined and our level of acceptable quality increased with the advent of all this fancy equipment? Something that was found to be acceptable 30 years ago would not be acceptable now? Or perhaps the majority of people of today don't know or care how their shots taste??

Thoughts?

Alan Frew

#2: Post by Alan Frew »

You should remember that some of the people who might be interested in replying weren't alive 30 years ago. The ones that were, if they had never travelled outside the USA, had never tasted "decent" espresso, let alone "quality" espresso. Back then, if you wanted a reliable remotely drinkable espresso, your choices were Italy or Melbourne, Australia. And Melbourne was limited to Lygon St. Carlton, and maybe a dozen other places where post WW2 immigrants had set up coffee or restaurant businesses.