Can Caffeine Make You Sleepy Through a Paradoxical Drug Effect?

Want to talk espresso but not sure which forum? If so, this is the right one.
drgary
Team HB

#1: Post by drgary »

For awhile I've been finding myself drowsy - a lot. I attributed it to many things; a meditation side effect, perhaps aging, or maybe something scarier like Chronic Fatigue Syndrome. As a dedicated coffee hobbyist I've wondered whether I was developing a tolerance for caffeine. Was my body was getting tired of being pushed? Then I remembered that some medications have paradoxical effects, specifically the stimulants prescribed to calm people with Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD). I also recalled a recent thread on Home-Barista where that possibility was discussed.

Coffee and Sleep

If this were true for me, what would it mean for my hobby and the great enjoyment it gives me? More on that in a bit, but suffice it to say this is about finding balance. I am not posting this thread to scare people or turn them against caffeine, but as an alert that some of you may be more sensitive to its downside. And I may have that in common with you. My response is to experiment with cutting back on caffeine and find my own personal balance. I've already done a coffee review at night where the sampling was done without swallowing. After all, if someone's a wine taster they're in trouble if they drink everything they taste. I've met more than one serious coffee professional who limits their caffeine intake. And there may be practical wisdom in trying the single basket that's usually supplied with a new Italian espresso machine.