Calling on any real electrical engineers

Want to talk espresso but not sure which forum? If so, this is the right one.
Yuki

#1: Post by Yuki »

If you seriously know your stuff, please help me with a few questions. Maybe you're not a true electrical engineer, but you honestly know what you are talking about and not just guessing ... great. I'm a pilot, so I'm not completely ignorant, but I'm no electrical engineer for sure.

I'm Japanese. Our juice is 100v 50Hz in Tokyo.

A La Marzocco guy at LM USA has told me he spent some years in Japan, brought his 110v 60Hz GS3 with him, and had no problems in Tokyo. He's not an electrical engineer, however.

Likewise, I have had no problems in the past with North American machines here. The caveat is that I've never run one for many, many years, either. Some N.A. dealers who export to Japan say "no problem" as well. Again, "no problem for how long", I don't know.

But a nice chap down in Australia (who works for a dealer down there, but who is also NOT an electrical engineer) tells me to beware running 60Hz stuff @ 50Hz. I know, of course, that something like an analogue clock wouldn't keep proper time, because they use Hz as the timing mechanism. But is there really other cause for concern here?

Is the following claim, for example, accurate?

"With electrical items such as motors and solenoids, you get lower rpm and more heat- which can lead to premature failure."

Is this simply confusing voltage with Hertz? I realize with lower voltage this might be true, perhaps more so over a very long time frame, but he was specifically only addressing Hz with that claim. And wouldn't slightly lower rpm actually mean less heat (except in the case of, say, where an internal cooling fan was being used, which likely would not cool as efficiently)?

Another question has to do with a voltage-only differential.