Any machinists want to build a custom part?

Want to talk espresso but not sure which forum? If so, this is the right one.
mitch236
Supporter ♡

#1: Post by mitch236 »

I don't know who else to ask since I'm not a designer nor have any backround in machining. Here's what I want to accomplish. I would like a tamper like device (a piston) that I would use to apply pressure to beans in the throat of my grinder. The base of the piston would be rounded much like a curved base but much more (I have a shower flange that the curve is perfect as a template). It also would have a doughnut hole in the center for the burr bolt to be able to reside and push the random bean into. There would also be a sleeve which the piston (the tamper like part) would slide into. The sleeve would fit snuggly into the throat of the grinder to give the piston stability up and down and would extend appox 1" above the throat.

Anyone feel like tackling this project? I wish I could draw so I could better describe what I need (or think I need).

da gino

#2: Post by da gino »

HI Mitch, I know exactly what you are looking for and it was easy for me to build one out of wood when I was testing out a Macap M7D. I didn't make an elegant one since it wasn't my grinder and i was just checking to see if it was a good idea, but it worked very well allowing single dosing to imitate a full grinder, where before my single dosing results on that grinder had been erratic . I don't do work for others since I am not fast enough to justify the time vs profit, but I imagine Dave (Cannonfodder) could make you something that would be great. If you wanted something heavier than wood, he could have a weight that screws onto it or obviously make the piston larger. I was going to determine the pressure from a column of beans and adjust the weight of my piston to match, but did not get around to it before I returned the grinder. I still plan to do it some day.

Custom Wood for your Espresso Machine

Hugh

Advertisement