Airline scum coffee

Want to talk espresso but not sure which forum? If so, this is the right one.
Marshall

#1: Post by Marshall »

Who knew? Airline coffee is disgusting even before they add the coffee. http://www.forbes.com/sites/johngoglia/ ... -on-board/
Marshall
Los Angeles

yakster
Supporter ♡

#2: Post by yakster »

Yikes,

I made coffee with in-flight hot water on a recent flight. Not sure how I can get around this, I can't carry on a thermos full of hot water.
-Chris

LMWDP # 272

2StrokeBloke

#3: Post by 2StrokeBloke »

As an aircraft maintenance engineer, I agree with the article. We do sterilize our potable water tanks on a regular basis, and the system onboard does have very good water filters, but I won't touch non-bottled water onboard. (unless I'm desperate). The good news is that since airlines are looking for ways to reduce fuel burn costs, carrying full tanks of water around is happening less and less. This means the water carried is usually 'fresher' since it was likely just pumped in for your flight. Of all the water tests I've seen carried out, not one of ours has come back with E.coli and such, but the potential exists. Water for coffee and tea come from dispensers in the galley attached to the coffee maker itself. Don't ever get water from the lavator. That faucet in the washroom is about three feet away from the toilet.

If you want to make coffee onboard like Yakster, just bring a thermos (empty) into the airport. Usually one of the coffee joints, bars or cafes in your terminal have a hot water dispenser attached to their Bunn coffee systems. Fill up your thermos once thru security, get onboard and brew away! Your seat mates will love the smell of fresh coffee!

yakster
Supporter ♡

#4: Post by yakster »