TJ-067 - Converting from Propane to Natural Gas

Discuss roast levels and profiles for espresso, equipment for roasting coffee.
Dregs

#1: Post by Dregs »

I recently converted my North TJ-067 from liquid propane (LP) to natural gas (NG). With the growing interest in 1 lb - 1 kg roasters, I thought some description of the process might be helpful to others.

A word of caution: I am far from an expert at anything involving LP or NG. Whatever limited knowledge I have I got from the internet. Gas can be very dangerous (as can electricity) so please do your own research, follow manufacturers' directions, use common sense and abundant precaution, and don't blame me if something goes wrong.

Before making any changes to the TJ-067, I timed how long the roaster took to heat up from room temperature to 360F using LP with maximum gas flow, minimum fan setting and empty drum - just over 6 minutes. That would be my benchmark to know whether the conversion resulted in heating capacity with NG equivalent to what it was with LP.

From what I've read, NG that is piped into the house is almost pure methane. Methane burns at a lower temperature and has roughly 40% of the energy content for a given volume compared to propane. The pressure in home gas lines, usually between 3.5 to 7 inches of water column, is lower than the pressure supplied by the regulator (round metal thing) on an LP hose, which is standardized at 11" WC. The conversion from LP to NG requires that an appropriately larger volume of gas be allowed to reach the burners. The TJ-067 doesn't have any kind of built-in regulator. Maximum gas flow is a function of the size of the orifice (hole) in the brass nozzle housed in each burner and the pressure of the supply. The nozzles screw into the gas manifold and the burners screw onto the nozzles. I hooked up the roaster to the NG line before making any changes to the nozzles to determine line pressure in my house and measured 5.2" WC on the gauge.