Thermocouple question TJ-067

Discuss roast levels and profiles for espresso, equipment for roasting coffee.
Tjibbe

#1: Post by Tjibbe »

I ordered some thermocouples at Procon Ebay as shown below.
They seem to work fine in open air and boiling water.
But however: the moment I put them in my TJ-067 roaster or anywhere else close to iron they are not responding anymore.
My Voltcraft datalogger is working right.
I'm just a layman...........but I hope there's a simple explanation for this matter.

Rgds, Tjibbe

EGT K Type Thermocouple for Exhaust Gas Temperature Probe with M5 Threads

osanco

#2: Post by osanco »

Answering this question requires more data. What precisely does your readout show? What does it do and what does it not do?

As a general stab in the dark, it sounds like your ground wire is not connected on your roaster. Are you using a 2 or 3 prong plug? Are you sure the green wire is connected in your plug? Are you sure the ground is connected inside your wall plug?

50% of initial thermocouple problems are grounding. 49% are configuration problems in the reader. Stuff like not having the type set correctly. 1% is the TC itself. It's "the little foxes, that spoil the vines". If you are getting good reading out of the roaster, check your ground.

-

JK

#3: Post by JK »

OK they work fine not grounded to roaster correct?
Are you using a laptop?
I found if my laptop is plugged into the AC adapter I always got a lot of noise using Artisan and TC4c

Are you just plugged into your data logger and getting nothing with probes are installed in roaster or nothing using a USB data logger to computer?
-----------------------------
I'm on a Mission from God!

Tjibbe (original poster)

#4: Post by Tjibbe (original poster) »

I havent plugged the datalogger on to my laptop yet.
I was just putting the TC close to the roasters front-plate and all I see is flat lines on the datalogger, no temperature at all, just nothing.

JK

#5: Post by JK »