Roasting methodology & adjustments to roast profile based on the taste of previous roasts

Discuss roast levels and profiles for espresso, equipment for roasting coffee.
Ziv Sade

#1: Post by Ziv Sade »

Hi all,

I've been roasting for 2 years now on the Huky 500 - a had roaster with 500g capacity and I'm quite pleased with my results. However, I have always wondered how other roasters make an adjustment to their roasting profile for a certain bean based on the taste of their previous roasts.

I read all the Roast & Learn together threads - where people write that based on their previous roast they decided to change their roasting profile in order to achieve other taste, and I wonder - why & how you decided on that specific adjustments? For example - how do you know what will be the result of extending the drying phase?
Or making the ramp phase shorter?

It will be great help for me if you can elaborate more about it.

Regards,
Ziv Sade

happycat

#2: Post by happycat »

This is a great question.

One of the useful espresso heuristics I learned here was Jim Schulman's "For sweeter espresso, dose lighter & grind finer". It's a heuristic that specifies a continuum and how to make practical use of that continuum.

Those kinds of rules of thumb are quite helpful for managing a complex process-- lightening the cognitive load while we learn until we're ready for further detail.

I think there are a couple of ways to look at this. I'm taking a bit of a cognitive science approach.

Note that research indicates that in general, novices tend to focus on the micro view and making small concrete changes to force their process to get the result they want. In contrast, experts tend to model the entire situation and work their way forward at a conceptual level. So what I'm suggesting here is considering an expert approach of the roasting process as modelled within different roasting paradigms.

What would those roasting paradigms look like?