Roasting for espresso with Behmor 1600, 13 sec. shots

Discuss roast levels and profiles for espresso, equipment for roasting coffee.
ckx_dude

#1: Post by ckx_dude »

Hi there, this is my first time posting on this forum but I've enjoyed perusing its wealth as I've gotten into roasting and espresso over the last year or so. I've recently acquired an Astoria CKX and have been pleased with the results I've been getting with the coffee from our local roasters in Sacramento. I've been roasting for about 9 months now for drip coffee, but whenever I try my beans in my espresso machine, it gushes through in about 13 seconds. I would get 20-30 second shots with the good coffee, but with mine the shots just gush. I've tried resting the beans different amount of times, from a day to a week. I've tried to change the grind, and I've changed the dose between 18g-21g and no difference. Does anyone know why such a big discrepancy would happen between home-roast and professional?

I'm roasting with a Behmor 160 (not a plus), with 1/2# charges. With any coffee I've roasted I've gotten the same results espresso-wise. I generally roast with P2 B on the 1/2# setting. Something that might or might not be related: I try to roast C+/FC, but in order to get the color I want, I have to stop the roast pretty quickly into 1C, rarely going past 45 seconds. But I've heard of people roasting 2 minutes in and still getting light roasts.

Any thoughts?

Thanks!
Lucas

Advertisement
dominico
Team HB

#2: Post by dominico »

I would hesitate to blame a roaster for your espresso gushers other than the fact that lighter roasts require a finer grind; maybe you could try grind even finer than you've yet tried.

Also, I don't want to point the blame at your grinder, but if you are grinding as fine as you can and you are still getting gushers on that Astoria then the grinder isn't up to the task, it could simply be out of alignment or the stepped adjustment isn't precise enough.
https://bit.ly/3N1bhPR