New DIY proyect: Pseudo-Homemade Drum Roaster

Discuss roast levels and profiles for espresso, equipment for roasting coffee.
FOCKER

#1: Post by FOCKER »

Hi Everyone
In persuit of geeting a good freshly coffee roasted and since I can't find a good local Roaster I dicided to built my own.
As some of you know, I'm from Tucumán, a small city at northwest in Argentina, and there is too difficult to find fresh and quality roasted beans. So i'm starting to home roasting and what do i need first? A coffee roaster.
Home roasters are difficult to find here and buy one from Europe or the U. S. is not an option. the customs are restricted and nothing gets in. So what I'm gonna do? Like every other Argentinian I'm gonna solve it any way I can.
I am a Mechanical Engineer and i'll desing and built an Electric Drum Roaster. I PMed sversimo asking for use his desing as a model and he agree.
Ok, why I'm typing this? Because I want to share this experience and to ask you about recomendation on the machine specs because this is a new subject to me.

First on the list is:
What is the amount of coffee do I want to roast? I'd like to roast about 300Gr to 500gr maximum (abount 1/2 to 1 pound)
What is the heat do I need? :shock: I don't know... I was thinking in two heating element 800w each 1600W in total
Drum size: I'm thinking in a 1.5mm thick stainless steel rolled sheet soldered each side together (1 inch = 25.4mm) 160 mm Diameter and 250 mm long

The case will be constructed with same thick of sheet as the drum
I'm gonna make a drawing of the prototipe and upload it latter

Well this is have till now. What do you think? would it have enough power and size to roast the 500gr of beans?

Please comment

PS: Sorry for my bad english I hope you understand

sversimo

#2: Post by sversimo »

Sounds fun! You will have enough power to roast 500g, but perhaps not enough power to make very quick temperature changes, but than again, if you plan your roast you dont need to.